A Vague Journey Through Burgers: Lucky Chip

 

I went to Lucky Chip at Hans’ behest after our Almost Famous excursion earlier in the year. I had a job interview earlier that day and got the job, which I quit after one week. I nearly moved to Homerton, which was very close to Lucky Chip, but thankfully didn’t as I would have been stuck in a three month lease had I done so. It would have been more convenient than Southall, where I ended up, but I had good housemates for those five weeks (one month’s notice for one week worked) so it was all good.

I’m not a huge fan of Hackney I realised on this excursion. It took a long time for us to find Lucky Chip, partly because it was in a real “need to know” street (The Sebright Arms, Coate Street. There were building works at the time), and partly because we got off at the wrong stop and had to walk for years. Hackney was apparently very up-and-coming at the time – indeed it was, as it is currently very “up” – but I didn’t see the light. Maybe I was less happy then. I like London a lot more now.

Lucky Chip was housed in a pub at the time. It was an old-man type pub complete with a ceiling fan that looked ready to fall down. I liked it.

I ordered a soda and lime, some chili cheese fries to share, and, I believe, a Royale with Cheese.

blogger-image-908364928

Not my picture. There are definitely more appetising-looking burgers out there.

This was 2013, I really can’t remember too well. Or much else about it. It was good, but not as good as Almost Famous. The chili cheese fries were a messy but worthwhile eat.

photo-21

Not my picture, but darn tasty looking

We left, and found it much easier to get back.

So yes, a short review. Not as good as Almost Famous. But a life experience.

It has since moved, but kept its movie-referencing ways.

I don’t think I’m cool enough to eat burgers.

 

One thought on “A Vague Journey Through Burgers: Lucky Chip

  1. Pingback: A Vague Journey Through Burgers: #7 Five Guys | This Is Not A History Blog

Leave a Reply

